Understanding People

25 Jul

I will never understand people. Seriously.

Take this hypothetical situation, for instance.

Say there was a family of four who were raising their two children. And because they were having financial difficulties, they decided to pin their hopes on another income source. But that income source was actually a very difficult one to get into, and even though they knew that their chances of getting into that income source was slim to none, they decided to pin all of their hopes and dreams and plans on it.

And I didn’t mention that one of the parents doesn’t currently have employment and isn’t, to my knowledge, searching for employment.

When Scott and I were struggling financially, guess what I did? I went out and got a job! I worked evenings and weekends while he stayed home with the kids. And now, I still have a job, only I’m EXTREMELY fortunate in that I can work at home. Now that Babygirl’s headed to school if I wanted to go out and work, I could (and it may be something I look into if my at-home work slows down too much) and if my families financial situation was bad, I would.

But this family? Doesn’t work that way. They have a far different belief system than I do, and while, for the most part, I have no problem with their system, I do have a problem with the fact that it’s preventing them from earning the money that they need to raise their family. I’m not talking the money to buy tons of expensive items, but more just the fact that they are struggling to have the money to put food on their table.

I’ll just never understand people.

3 Responses to “Understanding People”

  1. Kristen August 28, 2009 at 11:45 pm #

    I completely agree with you! I hope to never be in a situation where I am struggling to put food on the table, but if I was, I’d take a second job, a third job – whatever I had to do.

  2. Kristen August 28, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

    (This is my first time posting on your personal blog – I followed you over from Jolie Pitt News. I hope that’s alright with you? I’m always looking for new blogs to read.)

  3. scootersbabygirl August 28, 2009 at 11:48 pm #

    Not a problem Kristen! It’s very rare I get readers from Jolie-Pitt news over here though, but very cool! And yeah, I agree – do whatever you have to do to pay bills and get food on the table!

Leave a Reply

