SUCKER

5 Aug

SUCKER, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

Can you say sucker? Apparently it’s written all over my forehead – and Scott’s.

We talked for awhile about adding another kitten to our zoo. After all Duke is mine, the boys and Holly are Scott’s (Holly sort of adopted Scott), and Duchess – well, NO ONE owns Duchess. She sort of drifts from our bedroom to the kids bedrooms, depending on her feelings that day.

Anyway, we realized that technically the kids didn’t have any pets of their own to take care of, and while they help with all of the pets in the house, they have no pet of their own.

And then we drank a bottle of wine and decided that we needed to add more stress to our lives.

Kidding about the wine. Maybe.

Anyway, I found a kitten who was available through a local shelter, so I contacted them. Turned out that two kittens out of the litter were left, so we decided to let the kids pick out which kitten they wanted.

And I’m sure you can see how THAT went.

I told you – I blame the wine.

Toad wound up with the girl kitten, who he has renamed Katara. And Babygirl got the boy kitten, who now has the strange and possibly unfortunate name of Bibble (Bibble is a character in her Barbie movies, and yes, he’s a boy character).

They’re about 7 weeks old right now. Yes, the kids are changing the litter box and are feeding them.

And the dogs think that the furry wind-up toys are here only for their pleasure.

We’re working on it.

Our two cats? Have decided that they’re demons from hell sent expressly to annoy them, which has actually united them – given them a common enemy, as it were. So far they’re just staying far, far away from the kittens and are watching them with a wary eye. It helps that they can escape outside and that the kittens aren’t allowed to go out. By the time winter comes, and the older cats are housebound, the kittens will be big enough to fend for themselves.

I, on the other hand, need to buy a few more cases of wine.

2 Responses to “SUCKER”

  1. natobean August 6, 2009 at 4:35 am #

    KITTENS!! I am a sucker for kittens! They are absolutely adorable & I am so jealous! I would love to get a kitten, but the cat we currently have would have a shit fit and would NOT adjust. She only likes me and my husband. She has been around my son (8yo) since he was born & still freaks out when he is around. Oh, I am just green with envy…

  2. Tracey August 6, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    Yeah we got the baby siamese in March. She still runs the house. But my 3 furbabies all get along now. They’ll all curl up in bed with me If I let them.

Leave a Reply

