Thirty

20 Aug

It’s been a long couple of days – first off was the fact that I turned THIRTY – oh, the dreaded number. And while I can sit here and say that Thirty hasn’t been that bad, the simple fact is that it kind of has. Let’s look at the facts:

  • Some sort of a strange battle has erupted between a very good friend and I, and I kind of feel like lines have been drawn in the sand that can’t be crossed.
  • My relationship with my mother has disintegrated and, quite frankly, I’m not sure what to think about that one anymore. It’s something that I keep going back to and am trying to calm down about before I try to make contact or to discuss things.
  • Work is still slow, and even though I have a minor project due today, it’s nowhere near what I need it to be to make the mortgage payment. I can’t complain, though, as this is the first time it’s been this slow in two years. I’m just desperately hoping that this doesn’t become a trend.
  • Toad met with the new orthodontist, who basically said that the old orthodontist was an idiot for ever having me pull two of his teeth, which made me feel like the worst mother in the world. The new ortho has some serious plans for Toad’s mouth that involve a lot of hardware, a lot of trips back and forth to his office an hour away, and enough dough to purchase a car with.

On the good front:

  • The annual fair is in town. Yay! We actually had a blast bringing our kids to the fair last year and can’t wait to do it again this year.
  • I’ve been having some kick ass sex lately – that’s enough to make anyone happy, right?
  • We’re trying to refinance the house – again. Last time we were given the red light because of Scott’s work situation – he was working one week on and one week off at the time. This round, he’s got proof that he’s working full time again and that end of it looks to be okay. The appraiser was just here – AGAIN (because apparently the value of your house can change in just four months – who knew!) and so we’re now playing a waiting game. All the paperwork is done and, to GMAC’s credit, they’ve streamlined the process to make it much faster than it was the last time we did it, which really makes me grateful to them.

I’d be even more grateful if they deposited a large check in my bank account.

IF the refinancing goes through, we’ll have a new roof, HOPEFULLY a new screened in porch (we have a porch now but it’s not screened in, and since the mosquitoes that live here could survive a nuclear holocaust, the screening is kind of necessary in order to sit out there and not donate a pint of blood to the wild), and all of our credit cards paid off – NEVER to be used again (unless, of course, I find something I really MUST HAVE on QVC…not).

But so far thirty hasn’t looked so good, and while I’m keeping my hopes up for this refinance to go through, I wouldn’t be at all shocked if it didn’t.

Leave a Reply

