Local Fair!

24 Aug

Down the Slide, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

Friday night we took the kids to hit the local county fair – you know, the place where they take all of your money and give you back two face-painted dizzy and half-sick children and a few extra pounds on your waist? Yeah, that fair!!

We headed down with my sister-in-law and her fiance and were really bummed out when we had to cancel our trip due to rain. Damn rain. The kids, however, were great and took it in stride – we got a movie and had some treats and we had a relaxing night.

Saturday morning the weather was still gray, but the forecast said that it would likely be clear until the afternoon, so we decided to give it a try. My SIL’s fiance was unable to go (which made his gut extremely happy, as he was unable to get his sausage and peppers…although he himself was sad about it) but my SIL came with us.

The fair was great. The kids got to see tons of animals (I love the barn), rode tons of rides, had their faces painted, and ate tons of food – even some new food. Scott and my SIL T got their bloomin’ onion – while they were waiting for their bloomin’ onion, which apparently takes awhile to cook, I got the kids some food. Their food was done before Scott’s and SIL’s, so SIL sat with them while I went and got my food (which is another reason I was grateful that Aunt T came with us!).

I snagged a corndog and by the time I got to the picnic table, Scott, T, and the kiddos were all eating – a bloomin’ onion. My children, who won’t touch most vegetables with a ten foot pole, absolutely loved bloomin’ onion.

Apparently next time I want them to eat broccoli I should just dump it in some flour and deep fry it.

We had lots of fun – we lasted about five hours before we had aching feet and an empty wallet, but the day was worth all the aches, pains, and loss of green stuff.

And and if the green stuff was deep fat fried in canola oil, my kids would probably eat it.

More photos of our fair day are here.

2 Responses to “Local Fair!”

  1. Holly August 24, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    Alas, you have learned the secret of how us Southern women get our kiddos to eat veggies most kids won’t touch!

  2. Tracey August 24, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    Everything is Fried down here 😉

Leave a Reply

