Versus

2 Sep

We’ve got a very, very big problem in our house. It’s the type of problem that can end a marriage – one that is so serious that it may start a war. It’s something that has pitted Scott and I against each other from day one, and unfortunately it doesn’t look like the battle is going to be ending any time soon. Instead, we’ve learned to agree to disagree, for the most part. Occasionally, however, the war will start again, especially when I bring the kids into the middle of it.

But Randi, you say, why would you dare bring the kids into the middle of a fight between you and Scott?

Unfortunately, they’re a casualty of war. It’s not like I mean for them to be involved, it just happens. and actually they really kind of like being in the middle of it. They’re on my side.

They’d much rather listen to the Beatles than Elvis.

Yes, our war is about Elvis and the Beatles.

See, Scott has always been a fan of Elvis. He thinks that the King is truly the best musician that there ever was. He likes the Elvis movies and he loves the Elvis songs.

I, on the other hand, think that Elvis is all right, but that he doesn’t hold a candle to the Beatles.

Now before you tell me that the Beatles were influenced a bit by Elvis, I know this. But I also know that the Beatles took the idea of rock and roll and went in my direction with it. Their music speaks to me. Yeah, it’s corny, but true. I can listen to a Beatles song a few times and my entire attitude changes. Lately, “Here Comes the Sun” has been the song that has helped to lift my mood.

So imagine how ecstatic I was when I saw that they’re coming out with a Rock Band Beatles, I was ecstatic! We love Rock Band II, and we still play it (even though we don’t have real internet connection so we can’t download any new songs, damn it) so the idea that we can not only get new songs, but that we can get Beatles songs?! It’s crazy ridiculous!

It also makes me wish that I didn’t have to spend the little bit of Birthday money I got on my new license, because I’d totally buy the software.

Even if we can’t get it, it gives me more ammunition in our private war. I mean, I don’t see an Elvis Rock Band, do you?

3 Responses to “Versus”

  1. Holly September 2, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    I understand. I live in a town near Tupelo, MS (Elvis’s birthplace) and you would think he is God. I won’t say I totally dislike him, but I don’t love him. As for the Beatles vs. Elvis thing, it reminds me of an ongoing argument in our household: Beatles vs The Rolling Stones. I LOVE both. My fiance insists the Beatles are overrated and their music went down because of drugs..bla bla bla. “And none of your favorite bands have been shaped by drug use?” UGH!

  2. Brianu September 3, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    Ask him if Elvis ever wrote any songs of his own, or stood for anything.

    Also: Did the Beatles ever make a hypocritical anti-drug deal with Nixon?

    peace

  3. Tracey September 3, 2009 at 12:53 pm #

    Yeha I live about an hour from Graceland.
    He still dominates the news during HIS week in Memphis once a year, people come from all over the WORLD for it…NOT I. lol.
    I think we will end up with Beatles 09.09.09 so MAYBE my hubby with RockBand with me ;).

    OH have you seen Across the Universe?? I love it!!

Leave a Reply

