Wonderful Side Effects

21 Sep

I’ve been on Wellbutrin before. The last time I was on it the version I was put on was Wellbutrin SR. THAT much I remembered. This time they’ve got a new, fancier version called Wellbutrin XL. And what makes the two different? with Wellbutrin SR you had to take two pills a day. With XL you only have to take one. How’s that for streamlining medication?

There’s just one slight problem. The XL? Causes complete and utterly annoying insmonia.

I was worried about the insomnia when I read that it was one of the most common side effects. Because, you see, if there’s one thing I love almost more than my husband (but less than my kids, of course), it’s sleep. I’ve always been a woman who needs to have a decent amount of sleep. Too little for too long and I turn into Bitcherella. Yes, with a capital B.

Friday night I didn’t take any of my “sleepy time” meds because I knew that taking them for even just a week straight can give you withdrawal symptoms, and I didn’t need that on my plate. I fell asleep around midnight and got up about six am. Yup, six hours of sleep.

Okay, that’s fine – at least I slept, I thought.

Then Saturday night came. Oh, Saturday night. See, ten years ago being able to stay awake easily until 3 am would have been a blessing! Now? I was ready to hit myself with a 2×4 to make me fall asleep! I was literally up and widely awake until about 3 am. Scott? Was snoring beside me the entire time. I tried everything I could think of to fall asleep, save taking a warm bath (forgot about that one – must’ve been the lack of sleep causing me to be stupid).

And I woke up around 7:30. Four and a half hours of sleep? Nope. That won’t work. And it was tossing and turning sleep as well. Lovely.

I started freaking out about this because so many people online were saying that their insomnia issues hadn’t disappeared after a reasonable amount of time, and that they had to take a second medication just to sleep! Yikes! I don’t want to have to be on eight different meds at the age of 30 if I don’t have to be, thank you.

I finally found one woman who made the comment that she had cut the pills in half for a few days to give her body the time to become adjusted to the meds. And then I remembered (duh) that when I had been on the SR, I had taken on pill a day for a week or so and then had bumped it up to the two.

Um. Duh.

So I’ve cut a few pills up to try that. I’m not taking any today to give the stuff a little more of an opportunity to get out of my system (did you know that another common side effect of this one is shakiness? I’ve felt like something was trying to crawl out of my skin for two days now!). Tomorrow I’ll start taking a half a pill for five days or so and we’ll see how that works.

Because even though Scott loves how out of it I get when I take the sleepy-time meds, I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t like me becoming addicted to them.

2 Responses to “Wonderful Side Effects”

  1. Finn September 21, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

    Have you also tried taking them at night, before bed? That way you’re asleep by the time it kicks in. That’s what I do.

  2. Jenera September 21, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

    I hope this works. When I was on meds last, they gave me stuff to help sleep too and it never worked right. Who cares if you’re not crazy if you can’t sleep right, lol?

Leave a Reply

