The Virus From Hell

30 Sep

Remember last week when my throat felt like I was swallowing glass shards? After a few days it felt better, and I thought “score! It’s gone! Thank you!”

Except that I woke up Monday morning to find that the virus had mutated – it moved from my throat into my ears, nose, and chest! Lovely! So Monday night I took two very large Nyquil and passed out – until about 4 am. I woke up coughing and because Scott has to go to work early in the morning, and doesn’t have the luxury of taking a nap in the middle of the day if necessary, I decided to hit the couch to try to sleep a little more. I actually did – thank goodness for recliners – but the kids were very confused to come out into the living room and to see mom sleeping there!

Last night I slept a bit better – thanks, again, to Nyquil. But Scott just called and it looks like he’s a casualty in my war against this virus. I’ve been trying to stay away from the kids and Scott as much as possible so that they don’t get it. I haven’t even kissed the kids on the lips for over a week! I’m also doing all my work by the back door with the screen open in hopes that I’ll air things out enough that the virus doesn’t cling too much to one place. I’m washing constantly and doing everything I can think of to keep the place germ-free.

But poor Scott has to sleep with me, and since I can’t wear a mask to bed, he’s a casualty of war. I actually feel really bad for him, because he does such a good job taking care of me when I’m sick.

I think that I’ll take an hour off at lunch time and go buy him some Aleve cold and sinus – I finished off the last of it this morning. Then I’ll take it over to him at lunch.

I’ll also get a few more very large Nyquil. I have a feeling that we’ll both need it tonight.

2 Responses to “The Virus From Hell”

  1. Jenera September 30, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    That’s one good thing about Daniel being gone a alot, when either of us gets sick we have plenty of time to get rid of it before he gets home. Though with the kids it’s harder to keep it from passing around.

    Hope you all get better soon!

  2. Tracey October 1, 2009 at 3:38 pm #

    Rob went to the doc last week and brought me home meds as well because he was contagious with something. Since Im asleep when he gets home from work I cant defend myself from his cough.
    Luckily I havent gotten it yet.

Leave a Reply

