In Favor Of Kevorkian

8 Oct

I spoke with a woman today whose husband is dying. It’s not “may die”, or “will eventually die”, it’s “has been dying for so long that he’s now just plain suffering”.

This sparked a conversation between Scott and I that went something like this:

Me: That’s just horrible. That’s why I think assisted suicide should not be illegal.
Scott: Suicide – that’s a cowards way out.
Me: I disagree, especially if you’re someone who knows that they’re going to die. If I got word tomorrow that in the next few weeks I was going to die, for sure, and I started feeling really ill and having problems breathing, ect, and it was definite that I was not going to make it, I’d want to be allowed to go peacefully.
Scott: Nope. It’s just wrong.
Me: You mean to tell me that you think it’s okay for someone to suffer in the way that our family members suffered?
Scott: It’s natural – it’s what has always happened.

Actually, that’s not entirely true. According to my research (and I’m hell on research), assisted suicide only became something “bad” when the Hippocratic Oath was introduced into medicine. Most doctors take the Hippocratic Oath extremely seriously and refuse to do assisted suicide because they believe it is against this oath.

See, to me this makes no sense – much in the way that it makes no sense to me that it’s illegal to not wear a seat belt. I agree that it should be illegal to have a child under the age of 18 go without a seat belt (so that the parents do their duty and protect their child), but what about me? If I don’t want to wear a seat belt and want to risk my life, why can’t I? It’s my own life, not yours, and I’m not harming anyone but myself by not wearing a seat belt if I’m in the car by myself. It’s not like I’m driving drunk, I’m just driving without a seat belt.

I feel bad for this woman because for a very long time she has watched her husband suffer and be in pain – pain that he doesn’t want and pain that she wishes she could get rid of for him.

Do you think that assisted suicide is an okay thing?

3 Responses to “In Favor Of Kevorkian”

  1. the Provident Woman October 9, 2009 at 6:44 pm #

    That’s a tough topic.

  2. Jenera October 12, 2009 at 12:55 am #

    It really depends. I can see being old and in pain and suffering. then I would stand by Daniel going along the route of assisted suicide. But in some cases I feel it would be used to take the easy way out, know what I mean? I think if it was easy and legal, some would choose that over fighting a disease or illness because it would easier than suffering through chemo, let’s say. I don’t think it’s a black and white issue

  3. highlyirritable October 12, 2009 at 3:17 am #

    I think that educated, planned assisted suicide is a valid option for some people and culturally relevant. But for me, your seatbelt argument doesn’t hold water. I live in Canada, and we have Universal healthcare. Therefore, your decision to not wear a seatbelt and potentially injure yourself when there is a statistically, legally mandated alternative to that circumstance, DOES cost me money as a taxpayer contributing to a healthcare pool fund.

Leave a Reply

