Discovered!

2 Nov

What happens when you have a brain fart and forget that you’ve set it up so that anything you tweet is posted on Facebook?

You get your entire group of Facebook friends, which include relatives and in-laws, discovering your blog.

At first I semi-freaked out about it. Let’s face it – there’s a lot of stuff on this blog about me. Some of it is pretty and fun, but much of it (especially the last few months) is fairly dark and brooding.

I spoke with one of my relatives about the blog yesterday. She said that she was upset about the blog and felt that I had written cruel things to hurt other members of the family. I explained to her that this blog is not meant to be a public forum, but is more a place for me to write down how I feel. A place for me to get out everything that’s inside of me.

To be honest, it’s better than therapy. I’ve met a number of amazing women through this blog who have helped to get me through some difficult times, and women who I have become fortunate enough to know.

After I explained this, and pointed out that I use no names other than Scott’s and mine and that people who don’t know me in person would have no idea where I lived (aside from the obvious of Vermont), she calmed down a bit. She said that the main reason she thought she was upset is because she knew who I was talking about.

I can understand that. I can understand that it may be difficult for friends or family to read what I’ve written about them and about how I feel. But I do want them to know a few things.

Nothing that is written on this blog is meant to hurt anybody. Nothing is written maliciously and nothing is here just because I felt like being cruel.

Nothing that is written on this blog about people are things that I wouldn’t say to them. If I were to write that I had issues with someone, and they were to confront me about that, I would stand behind my words. I don’t say something and then deny that I said it. Yes, there have been times when I’ve said something in anger and have then regretted saying it, but I do my best to not have to face this type of a situation very often. I think regretting is a waste of life and I try to do everything I can to not regret.

Anyway, this long rambling post was basically to let friends or family who are perusing the blog and who may read things that aren’t flattering or that are a bit rough to read. This blog isn’t politically correct and isn’t always an easy read, but it’s me.

2 Responses to “Discovered!”

  1. Tracey November 2, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    EXACTLY! I feel the same way. IF YOU know me then it might hurt but its hard to stay annoymus (sp fail but It sounded fun so I left it) all the time.

  2. Jenera November 2, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    I used to leave things anonymous but then some idiots in Daniel’s family deciding everything I wrote was about them and got all pissed off. So I went back and used names. And still do to this day. Because I don’t really care. If someone gets pissed off, that is their issue.

    I feel that as long as what you write is what you’d say to a person’s face, then keep on doing what you’re doing. There is no reason why anyone should censor themselves because someone might get mad.

Leave a Reply

