Disagreeing with School Again

14 Dec

The first thing you need to know is that, in general, I have no problem with the school the kids go to. It has small classes, it has mostly caring teachers, and it is a good school.

But there are a few things I have issues with.

The first and biggest thing is that the school really doesn’t seem to be comfortable with parents getting involved in the school, even though they swear that they are.

For example, Babygirl is supposed to be going on her first school field trip tomorrow. This is the first trip she’s gone on that will be without either Scott or I. Yesterday Babygirl told us that she didn’t want to go on the field trip – that she was scared and didn’t want to go without one of us. She was to the point of tears. So I asked if she wanted me to talk to her teacher, and that seemed to stop the flow of tears.

So this morning I walked her in and pulled the teacher aside. I told her about the situation and she obviously thought I was lying about Babygirl being uncomfortable. To be totally fair, she is the same teacher that was there when I didn’t allow Toad to go on a field trip that was pretty far away. Anyway, she said she’d “talk” to Babygirl to see how she feels about the situation (in a fairly condescending tone, unfortunately).

I asked her why parents weren’t allowed to go on a field trip to help. She said that it was because they would run out of room, and funds to pay for all of the parents who wanted to go. I told her that I have no problem driving myself down and paying for myself. AND that I’m fingerprinted with the school district. She seemed taken aback and said, again, that she’d talk to Babygirl today.

Babygirl is a shy girl, and while she’s come really far in her shyness and fear in experiencing new things, she still has a ways to go.

But for some reason the school – mostly the teachers – are against parents helping out at the school or on the field trips. I would love to volunteer to help at the school every once in awhile, but for some reason the teachers don’t seem to want to let parents help out.

Does your children’s school system allow for parents to help out?

8 Responses to “Disagreeing with School Again”

  1. Tracey December 14, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    I think Parents at our school out number the teachers at times. Its like an open door policy as long as it doesnt disrupt education.
    As far as field trips, they invite us and send home notes detailing what we as parents have to pay for admission to where ever they are going. Alot of parents go and I know when I go I have several kids that dont ‘belong’ to me, that I watch over if their parents can’t attend.

  2. scootersbabygirl December 14, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    Yeah, I wish our school was more like that! There are NO parents in the school, even though they swear that they have an open door policy. I’ve talked to members of the school board and they swear they have no idea how the teachers are. I think we may need to have another talk.

    Randi Morse randi.morse@hughes.net

  3. Finn December 14, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    We’re encouraged to participate, especially on field trips. More adults to help corral the kids!

  4. Jenera December 14, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    My darlings are a bit young for school but at Aidan’s preschool they are always down for help from the parents. And parents are always encouraged for outings or coming for lunch.

  5. Briana December 14, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    Oh the only reason that our school thrives is because of parent volunteers. Our Kinder teacher that Maf has, has a parent helper all day, everyday. And we are in full day Kinder. They have a morning helper. A lunch recess helper. And an afternoon helper. The only downside, is that we have to pay for the background check if we want to volunteer. And that we cannot go into the classroom, or on a field trip without the background check. But whatever. It is worth the 20 bucks.

  6. sherry December 14, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    I find that all so strange. Our school is very welcoming to parents helping out. I’ve gone on all the field trips since Hayley started school in 2007 and they’re thrilled with the help. How many parents they take depends on funds, space, and what it is. When we went to the Biodome last year we had three parents plus the teacher. When we went to the play this year it was one parent per class due to space.

    Also, I’ve been there so much lately since joining the PPO that no one asks anymore as to why I’m there and today they gave me a PPO badge (that we all wear around our neck) to keep with me at all times so that I don’t have to go looking for one.

    They also welcome parents, grandparents, and even community volunteers for their breakfast club program.

    I love our school and I’m sorry yours is shutting parents out. The more parents that are involved in the schools the better it is. I hope they’ll make some changes.

  7. scootersbabygirl December 14, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    I just got off the phone with her teacher – again – and now I’m “more than welcome to go” – I think that has something to do with the fact that I called and left a message to talk with the principal…. 🙂

    I wish our school was more like yours! I love everything about it BUT that fact! But I’m working on fighting it!

  8. Joanne Trombley March 27, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    I am a middle school teacher and am VERY disappointed with the lack of parental involvement with the Science Olympiad program that I run after school. Years ago, I had a few very nice, helpful parents, but recently, it seems that nobody has the time to help. This year, a student’s older brother helped, and I was very grateful. I know that we are all busy, but when my children were young, I used personal time and time off without pay to help out as best I could. I viewed it as my obligation as a parent to be involoved in my children’s school activities.

Leave a Reply

