Classic for a Reason

23 Dec

When Christmas time rolls around I always get excited for the Christmas specials that I love to watch – both those that I love as an adult and those that I loved as a child. I’d have to say that almost all of my favorite Christmas movies are animated. I kept hearing about It’s a Wonderful Life and then happened to see it on one of our local channels a week or so ago, so I hit the record button. I’ve avoided watching it since I recorded it. I’m not really against black and whites, but I would have to say that I’m partial to color movies.

This morning I’m fighting against this nasty cold. My head is all stuffed up and hurts and I decided that I’d chill out on the couch for a few hours before going out to get a few last minute things. Nothing was on television so I figured I’d turn on the movie and fall asleep to it.

WRONG. I definitely couldn’t fall asleep! I was caught up from the first few minutes of the movie, when we’re introduced to George and his family. How George always does the right thing and how the universe basically shits on him even though he’s doing the right thing.

George was seriously a great guy, and even though he lamented privately about what he wished would have happened, whenever push came to shove, he was always there to do the right thing. I was actually getting mad at the movie for awhile, and when the uncle accidentally gave the money to Potter, I was livid.

I wish I would’ve seen more of Clarence. Clarence was great, and I loved how it ended. I put on twitter that I finally watched the movie and loved it and a friend made the comment, “Good! It’s a classic for a reason”.

It definitely is, and it definitely got me more into the Christmas spirit, even though my head feels like its stuffed with cotton balls right now.

One Response to “Classic for a Reason”

  1. Finn December 23, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    I saw this movie for the first time last year, I think. It IS good, isn’t it? I didn’t expect to like it all either.

    Strangely enough, I used to get pissed that it was on every five minutes and now that I want to watch it, I haven’t seen it on once.

Leave a Reply

