A New Hobby

4 Jan


SKATING!, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

One of the best gifts that the kids got – wait, that’s not fair, they got tons of great gifts. Let’s just say one of the most frequently used gifts that the kids got for Christmas came from Aunt T and Uncle D – skates. Aunt T thought ahead and purchased skates that can be adjusted so that hopefully *crossing fingers* we’ll be able to get more than one year out of them.

Due to scheduling issues and REALLY cold weather, it wasn’t until this past Friday, January 1st, that we were able to head to the skating rink. Aunt T and Uncle D met us there and we all laced up our skates. The rink we went to had no walls, which was nice because the kids could just jump into the snowbank if they couldn’t stop.

When they started out they each had a chair they were pushing around – one that the rink provides (I say it again: I love Vermont!). Withing fifteen minutes, however, they had dumped the chairs and were skating on their own! By the end of that session, Toad had grabbed a hockey stick and was trying to get the puck into the net.

We hit another skating rink on Saturday but unfortunately it was nowhere near as nice as the first one, so today we headed back to the first rink, which is about 20 minutes away. Once again, the kids had a blast. They’re seriously getting the hang of it!

The joke of the week has been Scott. Poor Scott. Scott SWEARS that he has ice skates. He keeps saying, “when I find my skates, I’ll bring them.” I’ve been with him for 10 years and never once have I seen these skates he keept talking about. He borrowed a pair at the rink and, sick of hearing about these imaginary skates, I gave him a little incentive to find them.

“You find your skates and you’ll get 20 minutes.”

And not 20 minutes worth of a foot massage, either.

The minute we came home he started searching. And searching. And, a short time later, admitted defeat. So we need to get him some skates.

And unfortunately we need to get me some skates as well! I have skates that I got in high school, but…they don’t fit. I wore them all three times, wound up in serious pain all three times, and have now learned that my feet widened after I had kids (always blame it on the kids, right?), so I need to get some skates. I’ve found a pair that I love, but have you seen the price of skates?! Jesus! You could almost buy a car cheaper than you can get skates!

Anyway, regardless of whether we get skates anytime soon or not, the kids have definitely found a new hobby that they love, and considering that the hobby keeps them active and outside, I’m all for it.

3 Responses to “A New Hobby”

  1. Jenera January 4, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    It’s always great to be able to find something to do as a family that everyone enjoys! I personally can’t ice skate to save my life.

  2. chasingrapture January 4, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    I love skating except when I get skates for the kids and some new ones for myself I have to get hockey skates because that’s what I learned with. Years later I took skating for gym in college (gotta love gym classes in college, much more fun) and ended up with a pair of figure skates one week when I forgot mine up north. I spent most of that class on my face or my ass, stupid toe picks!

    We have a great store called Play It Again Sports that sells secondhand gear, I’m going to rent first and if they enjoy it I’ll try to buy them there. They especially have a lot of kid equipment since kids all grow like weeds!

  3. cinnkitty January 4, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    THAT is a lot of pink! 🙂 Too cute.

Leave a Reply

