Why TV Is Good For You

6 Jan

I know that they say that TV is bad for you, but Scott and I have discovered one television show that has been very, very good for me.

Hoarders.

Hoarders is on A & E and is about people and families who have a serious, serious problem with their homes. They’re filled. Sometimes they’re filled with clutter, other times they’re filled with junk. No, seriously, they’re filled with garbage. I remember one episode where the movers started shoveling out the garbage and they found a cat that had been dead so long that it was completely flattened.

Yes, gross.

Whenever I watch this show, I immediately start cleaning the house. I start throwing any clutter away and start organizing things. Now I will fully admit that I’m not the most organized person in the world. I often put things down in my house and totally forget that I did, which leaves them laying on the table or on the floor and which thoroughly ticks my husband off.

But when I watch Hoarders, I’m instantly in the “clean things NOW” mode.

But here’s what I don’t get – they say that hoarding is a mental disorder. It seems like they’re saying now that almost everything is some sort of mental disorder! I have certain family members who would’ve said that it isn’t a mental disorder, it’s just “laziness”. Is it just laziness or is it a disorder? I’m not qualified to figure that out.

But I WILL say that Hoarders is a REALLY good show for me to watch.

Scott’s thinking of having it on 24/7.

3 Responses to “Why TV Is Good For You”

  1. sherry January 6, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    I react the same way. The other night I had to sit on my hands to keep from cleaning up because it was 11 pm and that’s no time to start major cleaning in an apartment (last thing I need is to wake the kids up).

    I don’t think it’s laziness though. Laziness can bring about messiness but I do believe it’s a disorder that causes hoarding. Some of those people have a really hard time getting rid of the stuff or letting the organizers/cleaners touch anything. That’s beyond just lazy.

    Just talking about it makes me want to go clean something.

  2. Jenera January 7, 2010 at 12:02 am #

    Maybe it starts as laziness and turns into a disorder?

    I’ve never seen the show but I’ve seen other shows about the topic and it boggles my mind how that can happen.

  3. Ribs January 9, 2010 at 5:26 am #

    I also love the show. My wife and I watch it every week. http://ribsramblings.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/messy-tv-get-it-like-must-see-tv/

Leave a Reply

