Tired

14 Jan

A few months ago, when I had my lovely physical, my OB told me that now that I was 30 (and didn’t THAT sting a little), I couldn’t go for months on end without a period.

Because of the PCOS I can go for a very, very long time without having a period. The longest I’ve gone is over a year. The doctor, however, has now said that if I don’t have a period at least every three months, I’m at a greater risk for getting cancer. He requested that, when I get to that three month point, I give him a call to let them know.

A bit over a week ago, I reluctantly called. They called back and told me that they’d called in a prescription for something called Provera. It’s basically a way to get the right hormone into my body so that I have a period. I’ve done what they call the Provera challenge once before, but it was a very long time ago.

And obviously time has dulled the fact that Provera? Sucks ass. No, it sucks monkey ass. It sucks dirty hairy monkey ass. While I shouldn’t complain, as I could have many more difficult problems going on, this Provera is horrible. It’s basically PMS in a fucking pill.

For the past week I’ve been:

  • tired
  • cold
  • hot
  • nauseated
  • tired
  • dealing with acne
  • grumpy
  • unable to sleep
  • tired
  • craving bad foods
  • crying over nothing
  • feeling depressed
  • tired

Have I mentioned that I’ve been tired? That’s what’s kicking my ass the most is the fatigue. I sleep more than 8 hours a night and still I’m exhausted. And considering that nothing else has changed in my life or my diet, and that I don’t have any colds/flus/anything like that, the culprit has to be the Provera.

I’ve read a few other women online who have said that they were tired when dealing with the Provera, but all I can tell you about me is that I’m sick of it. I hate not having any energy, and not being able to focus (another common symptom, apparently). And all I’m going to get out of taking this pill for the prescribed days is…a period! Wow! But hey, at this point in time having a period will probably be like a vacation for me.

And the good news? The good news is that if this happens again, and I go for 3 months without a period (a very likely thing to happen), I get to do it all over again!

Oh joy. Oh bliss.

5 Responses to “Tired”

  1. pinkpiddypaws January 14, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    Hmmmm…. I don’t think I would trade you, but I can tell you that I’m currently on Day 32 of bleeding after being put on Yaz.

    Funny… you are required to have a period and I can’t get mine to stop. 😛

    But hey.. .my skin has really cleared up and at least I’m not having god awful “kill me now” period symptoms like I used to. (always find the bright side, right?)

  2. Jenera January 15, 2010 at 4:27 am #

    Oy, when I had to take the Plan B a few weeks ago it was like a period in a pill. I was evil and cranky and oh man. I wanted to stab people it sucked. So while I have not experienced Provera, I can sympathize with the side effects.

  3. Tracey January 15, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    I had an IUD (Mirena) placed a year ago last August..Ive not had a period in over a year now…And thats normal. I shouldnt have one til its removed and it can stay in for 5 years…I think I’ll have it removed and another put in.

  4. scootersbabygirl January 15, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    PinkPiddyPaws – yeah, your situation definitely sucks too!!

    Jenera – Plan B? Someone was a bad girl, huh? LOL. But yeah, those can definitely suck. Now try 10 days of it.

    Tracey – I know! That’s why I don’t get why it’s okay to not have a period with an IUD (I had 2 fall out, by the way – weird), but not when it’s your body naturally doing it. Weird.

  5. Briana January 16, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    I am working on getting a hysterectomy planned if they have to do a C-section. I hate PCOS and all that comes with it. I bled for 9 months straight then went a little over a year without one. I feel ya there!! Good luck babe. Hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

