And Yet Still

27 Jan


Sign Of the Times, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

We went to my cousin’s basketball game on Saturday. It was great fun! My cousin in only a Freshman, so she’s on the JV team. The cheerleaders, I soon learned, did not feel as though they needed to cheer for the JV team, only the Varsity team, so instead they were absent for most of the game.

Near the end of the game, however, they came in, dropped their silvery pompoms on the benches, then left. Eventually they came back and sat down.

Obviously the game was boring them (for the record it was NOT a boring game and was kick-ass) because I spied this cheerleader using her time to text some friends. Or maybe she was Tweeting – who knows.

She’s, what, 16? 17? And has a cell phone?

And yet here I still am, 30 years old and living cell-less. *sigh* What you give up when you live in the country.

2 Responses to “And Yet Still”

  1. Miss Emm January 27, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    I have been thinking of buying my daughter a cell phone. Not because she needs it. But because I need to be able to get in touch with her. I guess life is so much more complicated these days. Am I crazy for thinking that way?

  2. Briana January 29, 2010 at 1:56 am #

    Yeah well my friends son had a cell phone at the age of 10. Here they are EVERYWHERE!! I didn’t have mine until I was 27. Hubby still doesn’t have one. But here there are kids at my kids elementary school with them. Who would of ever thought???

Leave a Reply

