Passing the Plague

3 Mar

Once a year I cover our local town meeting for our local paper. I was actually very worried that I wouldn’t be able to make it there this year because Scott had to come home on Monday to take care of my sick ass. Thankfully when I woke up yesterday morning, I felt a lot less like I had been run over by a mack truck, and was able to drag my butt down to my mother’s to drop off the kids and then to the town meeting, with a huge bottle of water coming with me.

And I’m very glad that I went! The town meeting was HUGE! Our town clerk, who had a very…interesting past and who is currently fighting a case of tax evasion, was REELECTED, which still shocks me. And the school budget was, for the first time, NOT approved – it is ALWAYS approved, because the town is mostly paid for by money from the dump, so the town members basically just say “yes” and move on. But this year people were ticked at how much the taxes had risen, and they decided to take it out on the school board, not only by voting down the budget, but by kicking out one of the head guys on the school board – a guy who was really great at his job and who gave a great deal of time and effort to the school system.

A person who is accused of theft and tax evasion is kept, and someone who dedicates tons of time is evicted.

Yeah – I live in a crazy town.

2 Responses to “Passing the Plague”

  1. tsv March 6, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    you annoy me

  2. tsv March 6, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    alot

Leave a Reply

