The Last 6 Years

12 Apr

Today my youngest turns 6 years old.

I can’t believe that it has been six years since our little girl entered into our lives. I remember how we struggled through her pregnancy in the beginning, because I’d had not one, but two blighted ovums, and we feared that this pregnancy was going to be the same. I remember when we finally saw her heartbeat on the ultrasound screen – I cried, and while he probably won’t admit it, I’m pretty sure Scott had a tear or two in his eyes as well.

One thing I’ve always remarked upon was how miserable Babygirl’s pregnancy was. I had gestational diabetes, I had low iron, she sat on my sciatic nerve for three months, and I was throwing up for 8 months. Then, when I finally got over the “morning” sickness (ha, morning), I got the bug that was going around and spent over a week in bed moaning and being sicker than I could ever remember being. Yeah, her pregnancy wasn’t easy – and yet the remarkable thing about this is that Babygirl, who gave her mother a horrible pregnancy, is the most lighthearted child I’ve ever seen. She loves playing with mom, dad – anyone who will play with her, and she’ll play all day long.

She loves art – she’d be content doing art projects all day long as long as they vary a bit. She also loves to help out. She’s the first one to volunteer to take care of her clothes or to help me make dinner (she especially loves cooking). She’s also really smart, just like her brother. I was told only yesterday that one of Babygirl’s classmates always says at home that she’s the smartest girl in the class.

I wish I could tell you her real name. It’s unique and a bit different, which is just like she is. Yesterday we celebrated her birthday with a huge party with all of her friends, and tonight we’ll celebrate a bit more quietly. We’re going to give her the presents we bought her, and we’ll take her to get what she asked for this evening for dinner (everyone gets whatever they want for dinner in our house) – Babygirl chose Chinese food, and she wants to eat it on the dining room table with candles and drinking soda out of a champagne glass.

I try to keep my children safe, which is why I can’t tell you her name through this blog. But I can tell you that the name I gave her, Babygirl, suits her to a tee.

It’s hard to believe that six years ago I gave birth to this:

And that now she looks like this:

(and looked like this when her party guests showed up yesterday)

Happy Birthday my darling Babygirl. We all love you so very, very much and I hope that dad and I can make your birthday a special one, because you deserve everything that we can give you, and much, much more.

4 Responses to “The Last 6 Years”

  1. Finn April 12, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Babygirl! You are so pretty; you look like your mom.

    And what a gorgeous baby she was.

    Oh, and happy birth day to you, Mom.

  2. sherry April 12, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    Excuse me for a second, I think I have “something in my eye”. Sniff.

    Happy birthday! 🙂

  3. Jenera April 12, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Happy Birthday!!!

  4. scootersbabygirl April 13, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Thank you everyone! Babygirl saw the messages (I had to explain the something in my eye, Sherry LOL) and she was smiling that so many people, here and on Facebook, wanted to wish her a happy birthday, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

