Firsts

14 Apr

I realized today that I haven’t talked much about my photography business. I actually hate calling it a business because it doesn’t seem like work to me, although I am learning that I need to think about the business side of it. Anyway, things slowed down during the winter, and if you’ve ever been to Vermont, that makes sense. I don’t yet have a studio (eventually!), so I’m limited to shooting outside (my favorite) or shooting inside of someone’s home.

But spring has sprung here in Vermont, and I’ve currently booked 5 weddings (makes me tired just to think about it!) This year I’ll not be doing my weddings alone, however, but will be enjoying a teenaged assistant. My cousin’s daughter, who will be 16 later this summer, is going to help me at weddings (for pay, of course). She’s excited about it as am I, because I think it will be a wonderful collaboration.

The shooting season started off with a bang – a maternity photo shoot! This was my first, and I was extremely excited for it. Up here, maternity shoots haven’t really caught on yet, so this shoot is an opportunity for me to be able to get the word out about maternity shoots, what they are, and how beautiful they can be.

This is the classic pose – the mother-to-be really wanted it. I think it came out okay – what do you think?

2 Responses to “Firsts”

  1. Finn April 14, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Congratulations on your jobs!

    That belly shot is beautiful. Very well done. I am really loving seeing how you’ve grown as a photographer. Excellent work!

  2. Tracey April 19, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    I LOVEEEE that photo! It turned out GREAT!!

    The hubby got me a DSLR a few months ago. Ive yet to figure out how to really take good pics. Guess next is a photo program once we get settled.

Leave a Reply

