Watching a Train Wreck

10 May

I’ve written a lot about family on here – it’s no secret that I’ve been frustrated by family for a long time. It finally occurred to me one day that I was probably looking at things wrongly, so I switched how I started looking at things and some things finally started making sense.

There are still a few issues. One deals with Scott and his family. It is not a good time for them right now, nor is it a good one for my husband. He has made some choices that I disagree with, and while I will continue to try to talk him around to changing his decision, I know that in the end he is the one who needs to make the decisions about what choices he wants to make, not I. I will attempt to do everything I can to be here for him, as someone that he can talk to and who will comfort him when things get rocky.

Then there are issues going on with other people I know. In particular one person – this person has made some very bad decisions lately, hooking up with a person who seems to be going nowhere and the person, we’ll call her L, seems to be doing the same thing. L is extremely intelligent and bright and could be doing so many things, which is why it is so frustrating to watch her latch onto someone who isn’t making any moves to do anything and to follow that person’s leads. In fact, it seems like L is more concerned with everything that is going on with her new partner than she is with anything that is going on with herself. Neither of them has employment, transportation, or their own place to live. Almost everyone who knows L is concerned that she is going down a very wrong path, but we also all know that there isn’t much that we can do about it, save to let L know that we’re all here, and we love her, and that we want the best for her.

In the last few weeks I feel like I have been watching two train wrecks – one regarding Scott’s family and the other regarding L. I’ve done my best to help, and will continue to do so, but it has been so frustrating to watch these train wrecks happening. Especially since both Scott and I have known that one was going to happen for a long time, but no one believed us, and now knowing that this other one is going to happen, but that nothing we can say is going to stop it from occurring.

One Response to “Watching a Train Wreck”

  1. Jenera May 10, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Wish I had some words of wisdom for you but I’m in the midst of my own trainwreck that I’m sure people are finding quite fascinating, 🙂

Leave a Reply

