Spinning my Wheels

17 May


Air Toad!, originally uploaded by scootersbabygirl.

It’s been a busy month – hell, it’s been a busy year so far. We may not have tons of after school activities to do, but we’re always moving. Like this evening – I’m taking the family to my Aunt’s house to pick some rhubarb to make my hubby his favorite – strawberry rhubarb pie.

The biggest news happened this weekend. An old high school friend came up from a neighboring state to visit and she and I and another HS friend decided to go out to a bar. While at the bar I ran into a relative of mine who was on her way to getting plowed – seriously plowed. She and her significant other were both shitfaced, so I told them that they could stay at my house, so that they’d be safe.

My relative decided that they should come here, so I drove them home with me – considering that my friend from another state was also staying here, I had a busy house.

Then the world imploded.

The significant other was pissed for – actually, I’m still not sure why he was pissed. I’m pretty sure it had something to do with the alcohol, and he went off on my relative. She got upset and he left and walked to his vehicle. We made sure he was safe and then got her to sleep.

Yesterday things were confusing between the two of them. Lots of phone calls, a quick in-person visit, and lots of confusion and heartache.

This relative doesn’t live near here, which is why she has been staying with us. I don’t know what’s going to happen with their relationship. She says that she doesn’t know if she wants to be together with him anymore, and he seems a bit apathetic about the whole situation. She has a hard time making decisions and everyone around her has been telling her to leave the guy. He doesn’t physically abuse her, or else I’d be the first to tell her to leave him.

I think that they could have a good relationship together, but they need a lot of communication and both need to seek some help. And that’s exactly what I’ve told her. She’s said that she appreciates the fact that I’m not making snap judgments, and that I’m simply trying to be a sounding board and to help her to sort out what the truth is.

Our mini vacation is happening this weekend, and I know that now, after helping my relative through this drama, we both will definitely have earned it.

Leave a Reply

