Obligatory Fireworks Shots

6 Jul

Two years ago, I had NO IDEA how to get great fireworks shots. I’d get all excited for fireworks and then, after I started looking at the pictures that I’d get when I got home, I got all discouraged. Last year I finally realized that I needed to research and study how to do firework pictures, and I learned the secret of how to do them! I was extremely excited that the first photo that I took that was stunning was not only featured in our local paper, but was put on the cover of our town meeting pamphlet.

This year my husband was a super sweetheart. He had an idea of where to stand during the fireworks and went up to the home of the woman who owns the house (and the land) and asked permission to stand there. She was very sweet and it was there we stood, overlooking the beautiful waters, watching an amazing sunset, and waiting for the fireworks. when they came, they were much higher than I’d anticipated! A new company did it this year, and they are much better than the previous companies, so they shot the fireworks very high. I wanted a profile shot with some of the land in it, and I was very lucky that he shot a few low enough so that I could catch this one. What do you think?

2 Responses to “Obligatory Fireworks Shots”

  1. Tracey July 6, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    BEAUTIFUL!!! Now teach me the secret..I can’t get my SLR to begin to take a night shot…

  2. Jenera July 6, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    What a great shot! Beautiful!

    I didn’t get any this year because we’re on the road but I did get some of the kids with sparklers at the truck stop, lol.

Leave a Reply

