Reverse SAD

5 Aug

Think someone would dare bug my kids if these two dogs were standing by them at the time?
Ever heard of SAD? Seasonal Affective Disorder. Up here in the NEK there are a lot of people who suffer from SAD during the winter. They’re the ones who sit under sun lamps and who pray for the days when the sun will come out again. I swear I suffer from reverse SAD. While the sun bunnies are soaking up their rays, I’m inside wishing for the days when the air is cool and I can enjoy my back porch. I’ve been a bit depressed the last few days, and maybe it has something to do with SAD. Or maybe it has to do with money? Who knows.

So big news: DISNEY IS BOOKED. The kids, Scott and I will be going to visit Disney at the end of October. Our kiddos will be TRICK OR TREATING with Mickey Mouse! That is seriously cool. Everything’s paid for except the money we’ll need when we’re down there. The plan was to use the money I got from photography as the “mad money”. Looks like, however, it’s going to become bill money, as my regular work has been SUPER slow. Unless things pick up in a week or so, I’ll have to do some serious replanning.

Photography has been going great, though. I did one wedding last Saturday and I’ve got three more coming right up, one every Saturday! This Saturday I have to travel 3 1/2 hours away for a wedding, and I’m NOT a huge fan of travel. But the wedding venue, and the bride and groom, is amazing, so that should help make up for it. I’ve gotten a number of senior requests and am setting up times with them, so I am definitely happy, and tired. Between making the most of the end of summer with the kids and staying up late editing photos and trying to spend time with Scott, I think I’m burning the candle a bit low. Add to that the fact that I haven’t been sleeping great and you’ve got one cranky mom!!

BUT I’m trying to focus on all of the good stuff – spending time with my kids before school starts, the fact that my photography business is slowly expanding, that Scott hasn’t kicked my ass to the curb yet…after all, you’ve gotta enjoy the little things, because there aren’t many big things that happen that often, right?

2 Responses to “Reverse SAD”

  1. Finn August 5, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    Hang in there and keep doing what you are doing (except get more sleep!). Things will pick up. They always do. Perhaps you were meant for the photography rather than the righting and things are just shifting to where they need to be.

  2. dave March 2, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    great that thier is other folk out there who love the winter months, love the dark nights , cosy and something about the magic of winter

    dave in ireland

Leave a Reply

