Exploring Sexuality

14 Jan

When I was younger I used to read historical romance novels. Okay, who am I kidding, I still tend to snag one to read every once in awhile…okay, so there are a few on my Kindle too. Stop judging me!!

Ahem, anyway, because I read those books, and because I grew up in Vermont and we’re not the most…forward of places. it takes us a few extra weeks, sometimes, to get new movies that are out. In fact, in 2005, 97.95% of people living in the state were identified as white. Lovely Wikipedia shows me that out of all 50 states, and the District of Columbia, we rank the 2nd highest proportion of Whites. (Maine beats VT but only by a small percentage).

What does this have to do with sexuality? It just goes to show you the type of area that I was raised in. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love my state, and I don’t see myself moving any time soon, but where I was raised, and how I was raised, did set the way that I think about sexuality.

In the last few years, however, I’ve been able to expand my thinking. I’ve read things that I would never have read before, and I’ve seen things that I never thought I’d see. And all of this has taught me one thing: as long as everyone is saying “yes”, than anything, sex-wise, should be fine. That involves man/woman, man/man, woman/woman, or a bunch of people all piled together like a pile of puppies.

And, I have to say, I’m glad that the internet exists. With the internet I’ve been able to meet people who are interested in all sorts of things. I’ve exchanged emails with a mistress who actually gets paid to hurt men (and how enjoyable of a job would THAT be), and I’ve chatted with people who are into sharing their partners.

I guess my thing is that I love to learn new things, and the fact that I’ve been able to open my mind up enough to learn new things about sex, and I’m interested in learning so much more. It’s intriguing to me to learn about the history of sexuality, and how other cultures see sex.

do you think exploring your sexuality is a good thing, or do you think that it’s better to just stick with what you know and to not change anything?

One Response to “Exploring Sexuality”

  1. Megan January 14, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    Explore away! How would ever know what you life if you don’t expose yourself to new things?

Leave a Reply

