Book Review: Healing Hearts

19 Jan

Sometimes you snag a book (or an ebook) to read even though you don’t know the author’s previous work, simply because the story sounds good or the cover artwork is good, or maybe you found a deal and you’re able to buy it for an insanely low price. And then that book that you got turns out to be a complete treasure. It’s the type of book that keeps you turning the pages until the clock as gone past midnight and your dogs start freaking out because, hey, isn’t it past bedtime by now?

Healing Hearts by Taryn Kincaid? Not that kind of book.

I’m a huge romance lover, and I can easily sink my teeth into any historical romance novel. I know, I know, it’s like Jerry Springer for bibliophiles, but it’s fun to read and it’s relaxing as hell. And, let’s face it, most of us read the books because we know that no man will ever act like the men in the novels. That’s why they’re labeled fiction, people.

So I was pretty happy to get to chew on a historical novella. Unfortunately this was not anywhere near what I hoped it would be.

Synopsis: As a girl, Emma Whiteside asked Adam Caldwell, Viscount Riverton, to wait for her to be of marriageable age. Now, twelve years later, Emma hates Adam as much as she once loved him, holding the former army major responsible for the death of her brother on the battlefield.

Adam already blames himself for the loss of the men under his command. But the fiery young woman Emma’s become sparks his arousal, as well as emotions Adam thought long dead. The passion between them makes him want to reclaim the man he was before the war.

Though she tries to hold on to her hatred, Emma’s longing for Adam is undeniable, especially after the two share a smoldering kiss. Still, Adam is certain no woman would want a man so damaged. Can Emma prove him wrong?

Sounds good, right? Unfortunately, it’s not.

The Pros: ….hang on, I’m trying to think of a pro, here….dang it, even I’m not that imaginative.

The Cons: Everything about this story reeks, from the main characters, Emma and Adam, to the sex scenes. I think the author wanted both characters to come off as strong characters, but it didn’t work. They both came off a bit whiny. And then when they finally reconnect as adults it’s like “um, let’s talk for five minutes. Okay, wanna jump in bed now?” Let’s completely ignore that this was back during a time when an unmarried woman having sex was labeled a harlot and whore. She could at least have put up some sort of protest, but every time Adam asked if she wanted it, if she was sure, she basically sucked his tongue off and ripped more of her clothing off.

The Conclusion: While there are a number of stories that have come out of Carina Press that I think are amazing, Healing Hearts is not one of them.

3 Responses to “Book Review: Healing Hearts”

  1. Jaime January 21, 2011 at 3:54 am #

    Hehe! Love your reviews! Pure reader – and brutal honesty at that. I’m tempted to ask you to beta read my novel, but I’m afraid you might rip it apart. 😉

  2. scootersbabygirl January 21, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Jaime – thanks!! I’d love to beta read your novel – I can be gentle 😉

  3. Jaime January 21, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Why did I just have the urge to go ‘purrrrr’. LMAO. Just kidding. I’m doing the major overhaul edit now, but I’d love to send you the second draft for your thoughts. Feel free to prod me about it so I keep up with the editing I’m doing now.

Leave a Reply

