Never Braiding Hair Again

21 Jan

Wednesday morning the kids had a 2 hours delay. Yay for them, yay for mom who didn’t have to get moving quite so quickly as she usually does. I started my usual morning poking and prodding to get them moving, then I started doing Babygirl’s hair. We had a little time so she opted for a french braid. I was just finishing up the braid when my left side, from the shoulder down to under the ribcage in my back, exploded in pain.

It hurt so badly that I couldn’t breathe. I managed to get the kids to school and then to come home, but just barely. It hurt so badly that I actually called the doctor. The nurse’s response was “um, what the hell did you do?”

I headed to the docs office and she did an exam and discovered that it was a badly pulled muscle. The prescription was Flexeril, Ibuprofen, and heat/ice.

What I learned? Flexeril makes you SLEEPY. I took one yesterday morning and was barely able to pull my shit together enough to pick the kids up at 2:30! So I’ve avoided taking one today, but I’m still really, really sore. It feels like someone used my back as a punching bag. So I’m basically sitting on the heating pad, warming my back up every twenty minutes. While it makes me feel nice and hot, I’m not sure if it’s truly helping my back or not. It’s fine while I’m sitting down, but when I get up and move around? More pain.

Lesson learned: no more braiding hair!!!

One Response to “Never Braiding Hair Again”

  1. J January 25, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    Feel Better! http://www.copperetiquette.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

