Fragile

5 Feb

Ask anyone who has met me and spent at least a modicum amount of time talking with me and the last word they’d use to describe me is fragile. They may say “talkative” (that’s the nice word), or a wide array of other things, but not fragile.

That is my secret. I am extremely fragile.

It doesn’t take a lot for me to break. Oh, I can handle being yelled at or argued with by the average person. But someone close to me can hurt me far easier than they may believe, and then I’m left with my pieces shattered around me. Sometimes it’s large pieces, and I’m able to pick them up fairly easily, to superglue them, and to put the puzzle back together. Other times, however, I’m completely shattered and the pieces are so tiny that it’s easier to sweep them up and to toss them into the garbage, leaving me to start building from scratch, which always takes a lot longer than simply gluing the pieces back together.

Right now the pieces? Are in the garbage. Along with my self-esteem and self-worth.

The re-building process will happen eventually, but not today. Not right now.

One Response to “Fragile”

  1. JM February 6, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    *HUGS* I know what you mean. Most people would call me strong and brave, but I’m so, so fragile – especially when it comes to other people.

    Take time to take care of yourself. It doesn’t come naturally to people like us, but it needs to be done.

Leave a Reply

