2011 Superbowl Halftime Show?

7 Feb

We don’t watch much football at our house, but every year I drag Scott in front of the TV to watch the Superbowl. Why? I like the commercials, I like the food, I like knowing that I’m not going to be left out when people talk about the Superbowl the next day, and I like watching the halftime show.

Well, I used to like watching the halftime show. The best halftime show that I’ve ever seen was when Aerosmith and NSync took to the stage along with a host of other singers. There were lots of celebrities up there singing and dancing and everything went perfect, or it looked as though it did!

I’m not a huge Black Eye Peas fan but we (SIL, BIL, and Scott) all settled in front of the TV to watch. Both my BIL and SIL are huge music lovers, both liking different types of music. My BIL love classic rock and roll and has an unnatural obsession with AC/DC. My SIL likes country, some rock-n-roll, and what I consider off-pop – you know, those artists who you’ll hear on the mainstream radio station but who aren’t pop stars, kind of like Pink? And she has this strange fascination with the Ting Ting’s too. Scott likes classic 80’s music the best, but he’ll listen to almost anything (I’ve even seen him singing along to Selena Gomez). I like lots of different styles of music, so between the four of us we had it covered.

And all four of us were wishing for ear plugs.

Lemme break this down:

Slash The highlight of the evening was Slash, but someone had it right on Twitter when they said that “special guest appearances aren’t so special when he shows up everywhere and anywhere”, and that’s definitely true. His guitar riff, though, however brief, gave me chills. Then Fergie Dumbass had to come along and mess it up, but more on that in a minute.

Usher Usher only had a little cameo in the show and did his dancing beautifully. A lot of people online are saying that they’re upset because he didn’t sing. Actually he was singing – watch and you’ll see that he’s trying to fix his microphone and it’s not working, so he continued on with the show, as you should, and let Will-I-Shouldn’t take over the vocals for him. If his mic was working he would’ve probably stolen the show.

Glow Up Tron People I actually liked the glow-up people and loved how they arranged themselves on the field to make an arrow and such. But I did kind of miss having screaming fans running to the stage. Although there probably weren’t enough fans to run up because it’s the Black Eyed Peas, not Aerosmith or anything.

The Black Eyed Peas I’ll be fair: I’ve be-bopped around the house to a song of theirs or two. I’m not immune to their catchy beats and generic lyrics. So while they’re not someone I listen to on a regular basis, I don’t automatically groan when they come on the radio. But their performance at the Superbowl? Was HORRID!

I’ve already seen tons of people online saying “but their audio equipment wasn’t working right – you could tell!” Yes, I could tell that Fergie’s mic wasn’t working right at first, and that the balance between the four of them was off, but that doesn’t and shouldn’t excuse such a horrible showing! They sang absolutely horribly, and that’s saying something because there was very little singing there.

Fergie should stay in the sound booth where she sounds good – she has absolutely zero talent to sing live. Some people are online talking about how Christina Aguilera messed up the lyrics to the Star Spangled Banner. I can see how that would happen. If you knew that BILLIONS of people were watching you, it’s easy to see how you would get flustered. But at least she SANG! And she sang beautifully. She didn’t mess up any of the notes at all and was so loud that you could’ve heard her even without the microphone.

But Fergie? NOT EVEN CLOSE. And WHO decided that it was a good idea that she sing Sweet Child O Mine? Whomever decided that needs to be dragged out onto the street and beaten with wet noodles. That song is a classic and should remain a classic. Now I have the stain of her version on my brain and nothing can wipe it away!!

Their performance was absolutely horrible and goes down in my book as one of the worst performances every in Superbowl history, and that’s saying something considering the artists that we’ve had in the last few years. I’m waiting today for the announcement to come from the band that their audio equipment was off and for that to be their excuse? My response to that?

Maybe if you left AUTOTUNE alone and learned how to SING there wouldn’t have been such a fuckup, hrm?

2 Responses to “2011 Superbowl Halftime Show?”

  1. pinkpiddypaws February 7, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    I’d have rather seen Janet Jackson flash her boobie.

  2. J February 7, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    I actually loved it, but then I ama huge fan lol great review. http://www.copperetiquette.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

