A Romantic Night

18 Feb

Apparently Scott felt a tiny bit guilty that he didn’t put any effort into Valentine’s day. I told him that it was no big deal, that I’d get over being a little upset about it, but he wanted to try to make it up to me, so he decided that he was going to make me a romantic dinner. But there’s one thing:

Scott doesn’t cook.

Oh he can make macaroni and cheese and grilled cheese and noodles and scrambled eggs and…nope, that’s about it. But he decided that he wanted to make me any meal that I wanted, and finally I decided that I wanted Cream Cheese and Crabmeat Stuffed Chicken. It’s not a difficult recipe, but it does require cutting a pouch into a chicken, which I wasn’t sure if he knew how to do or not.

I had to take my sister-in-law to an MRI which gave Scott time to make the dinner and made the timing perfect for us to have a dinner alone, as the kids would be in bed shortly after I got home. After the MRI I walked up the stairs at home to find – the table covered with a tablecloth! Candles on the table! Wine glasses out! WELL this was going amazingly well, I remember thinking.

We put the kids to bed and I went to read my Kindle as I was banished from the kitchen. A few minutes later Scott called me into the kitchen and there was my crabmeat stuffed chicken along with rice and lima beans! LIMA BEANS! I love them and rarely have them because Scott really doesn’t care for them. He’d lit the candles, filled my glass, and then went to turn on some music – it was the same CD I’d given him for Valentine’s day.

It was an absolutely perfect romantic dinner and I made sure he realized how much I loved and appreciated it. Apparently I did such a thorough job thanking him that he’s now thinking of making me a dinner like that a little more often!!

7 Responses to “A Romantic Night”

  1. Sherry February 18, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I wish you could see how much reading this made me smile. 🙂

  2. Megan February 18, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    See… they do come through when they understand what you want. 🙂 Glad you had such a lovely night; you deserve it.

  3. Tracey February 18, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    YAY!!!

  4. scootersbabygirl February 18, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    Awww! Hopefully almost as much as the dinner made me smile!

  5. scootersbabygirl February 18, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Yup, 10 years of telling him that I wanted him to cook me a romantic dinner FINALLY got through his head 🙂

  6. Jaime February 19, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    🙂 Aww.

  7. Tracey February 21, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Rob made me dinner a week or so ago…Chicken Nuggets & tater tots. I was sickly on the couch. Least it involved the oven so I was proud 🙂

Leave a Reply

