Getting Rid of a Funk

25 Feb


Criss Cross makes ya wanna, Jump Jump!

I was in a complete and total funk yesterday. The night before we’d gone to a school board meeting, and while the outcome of the meeting was, for lack of a better word acceptable, the meeting itself really got me riled up. And at the same time work has been really slow, which always makes me worried and puts me in a grumpy mood. So of course I woke up yesterday in a complete funk.

I envy people who are able to get rid of their bad moods easily. You know the ones – those who are grumpy for about 1.4 seconds and then are cheery and bright again. I’ve been working really hard in the last year or so to try to be in a better mood more often. I realize that my medication can only take me so far, that I have to go the rest of the way myself to be fully happy. So when I get into a funk for a whole day? I get mad at myself, which makes things worse.

Scott’s been great about days I’m in a funk, and he’s able to temper my “aarrg-ness” with kindness and laughter, which often makes me more grumpy because, hey, why is HE laughing when I’m thoroughly grumpy, right?

But last night my cousin had asked if I’d go to her last home basketball game, and I’d said I would. After the meeting from the previous night, I really didn’t want to go, but we went. I brought my camera, as she’d requested, and realized when I got there that it was a great opportunity for me to practice doing some sport shots, which I don’t get to practice very often. I shot from the bleachers during the first half and then got right onto the edge of the court to take photos for the second half.

By the time we got into the van to head home, I realized that my funk was completely gone! I was smiling and laughing and joking with the kids and Scott again. Somehow, miraculously, being out in public, something I didn’t want to do, made me happy. Or maybe it was just getting out there with my camera. During the winter it’s hard for me to utilize my camera because I don’t want to risk ruining it. This was a great opportunity and I’m so glad that I went.

How do you get rid of a funk?

2 Responses to “Getting Rid of a Funk”

  1. Sherry February 26, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    This probably isn’t a surprise but I use yoga to get out of a funk. It always helps.

    But like you, I often find that even if I don’t feel like going somewhere at first I end up having fun once I’m there. Back in early January a friend was having a birthday party at a bar and I really wasn’t up to going when the day arrived since I’m not a big bar person anymore. Once I was there though, and taking pictures, I had such a blast.

  2. scootersbabygirl February 28, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    I envy you and your yoga! The ability you have to hold yourself up now is amazing!

Leave a Reply

