SNOWMAGEDDON!

8 Mar

JUMP!

Excuse me if I’m a little…twitchy. I’m now on day 4 of being locked in the house with the monkeys. Now I love my monkeys like crazy, and I absolutely adore summer when they’re here all day every day. But there’s something to be said for, um, quiet time? During the summer I’m prepared, mentally, to be home with them all day. I get a schedule set up that allows us play time and me work time. But when they’re home unexpectedly, like they are now due to SNOWMAGEDDON (make sure you say that in your mind with a James Earl Jones-type voice please) when I’m really not prepared to handle the situation. Then I start feeling guilty because I feel like I’m not spending enough time with the monkeys, and like I should be enjoying them being home more.

They’re dealing with SNOWMAGEDDON fairly well.

Okay, so today Toad is being a bit of a butt-head to his sister. And again, okay, so Babygirl may be a bit more whiny than normal. But they’ve been unable to get all of their energy out for a number of days, so I’m TRYING to be patient.

Note: I just asked Toad why he was being a butt-head to his sister. At first he said he wasn’t. I pointed out what he’d been doing and he gave me a small smile and admitted that maybe he was being a butt-head. Heh.

We did get outside yesterday. As you can see from the photo above, we’ve got some pretty large hills right outside of our house. How much snow did we get yesterday? 33″. Read that again, THIRTY THREE INCHES. All within less than 24 hours. That’s a lot of snow, even for VT. Fortunately we have a wonderful neighbor who has retired and who loves any opportunity to play with his Kaboda tractor, so he was down here in the AM and clearing out our road before I even thought to call him. We’re getting he and his wife a gift certificate to a local eatery as soon as we’re able to get into town. He’s a sweetheart.

But these large hills have transformed my driveway from a large driveway that could fit three to four cars across it to one that barely has enough room for one car! It looks like I have a snowy bowling lane in my yard. Very cool, but I’m worried about when it all melts. We have a bit of a flooding problem in our garage, so I have a feeling we’ll be spending most of our time down there bailing ourselves out before we become completely waterlogged.

There’s been a lot going on – more I’ll talk about next post. We had a friend here staying with us for awhile who was going to get divorced. Then he wasn’t. Then he was. Now apparently he’s not. And, oh yeah, did I forget to mention that he’s now forbidden to speak with me because apparently I “influence” him?

Yup. That’s me. WATCH OUT FOR YOUR SOULS everyone, I may just take them!

Taken from our front door – Katara wants spring already!

One Response to “SNOWMAGEDDON!”

  1. Cherie April 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I love this photo. I wonder what is going on in his or her little cat brain?!

Leave a Reply

