Further Proof Drama Finds Me

9 Mar

Someone once told me that I searched for drama. That I went out and looked for it much in the way a shark looks for it’s next meal.

“No,” I replied emphatically, “drama finds me. I have nothing to do with it!”

Allow me to further prove my theory correct.

I have a friend, we’ll call him Chris. Chris and I have known each other since before Babygirl was born. He’s a sweetheart of a guy who just happens to be an amazing technical guru and has helped me out on more than one occasion. While I know Chris very well, I’ve only hung out with his wife, Lillith, a few times. Lillith is nice, a bit shy, but nice.

About a month ago I get a message from Chris asking politely if he can stay in our spare room for a time. He and Lillith are having marital issues. “Of course!” I reply. Scott and I love the fact that we have a spare room and bathroom available for friends who are in need – and it’s been used a number of times. One of my friends calls it “Chez Morse”. Sorry, off topic.

So Chris comes and stays one night before he heads back home to work it out with Lillith. I continue supporting him and letting him know that if he ever needs to vent, we’re here for him as good friends should be. Last Monday I get another message from Chris telling me that things aren’t going to work out between he and Lillith, and that he needs a place to stay for awhile. So of course we offered our home up for him again and he accepted, apologizing needlessly over and over again for having to use our room.

He stayed for a few days, and we had a number of good talks. During those talks we were basically a sounding board, listening to what was going on and letting him know our opinions when it seemed like he wanted them. If you know me you know that I don’t say “there there, it’s all going to be fine” when that’s not the case. The situation going on with Lillith sounded funky to both Scott and I, and we suggested that maybe there was a possibility that things weren’t going to be okay. We advised him to focus on making sure their child was okay and that he was okay.

Chris went back home to Lillith after staying here for a time. Their situation is…strained. It’s undecided if they’re going to divorce or not (one minute it’s yes, the next it’s no). And I remain here a sounding board for my friend, giving him a person to talk to when he needs to vent.

According to Lillith, though, I’m Chris’s girlfriend.

Lillith now hates me. She hates me so much she’d probably pop one of my tires if she happened to have a knife and be standing next to my van. She has said a number of unflattering things about me to Chris and even claims to have yelled out some bad things when she saw me at a grocery store recently (which I never heard, meaning either she didn’t do it or I’m way more oblivious than I thought I was!).

Last night Chris came down to the house to help us out with some stuff and she was livid. Chris’s phrase was something like, “if fireballs could’ve shot out of her eyes, they would have.” I’m apparently ENEMY #1 and a complete home wrecker, and it’s MY fault that their relationship is in peril.

Because, of course, I’m the one who made her go out and get another boyfriend.

Yup, Lillith has found someone else, and Chris has remained squeaky clean, and yet I am the one who has caused all of this, when all Scott and I did was offer our friend a place to stay if he needed it, and to listen as he vented.

See what I mean? What do you think – do you think I went out looking for drama and meant to be a home-wrecker?

3 Responses to “Further Proof Drama Finds Me”

  1. Tracey March 9, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    OH geez!!
    Sounds like she has a few screws loose & Guilty dog barks FIRST! She is only trying to deflect all the bad press coming down on her!

  2. Sherry March 9, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    She sounds positively charming. O.o

    Did she forget that you’re not single and that he was not only staying in your home but your husband’s home as well?!

  3. JM March 9, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    The person who is most guilty always is the fastest to find someone else to blame it on.

Leave a Reply

