Oh Holy Hell

18 Jul

Wow – over a month since my last post. That’s just wrong!! I’d blame the shitload of business that I’ve been mired in for my delay but that’s just cliche, so I’ll simply say that my “artistic mind” helped me to forget to write on this blog.

You like that “artistic mind” schtick? I keep trying to use that excuse on Scott when the laundry isn’t folded or I leave a cup in the living room. Unfortunately – it’s not working.

So what’s been happening since my last post? Well the monkey-children are out of school and LOVING IT. I’m firmly in their summer schedule now and am already sad about them going back to school eventually *sniff*. I feel guilty because I haven’t spent anywhere near as much time as I want to playing with them, mainly because work has been crazy!

Oh work, yes work. The work of a freelance writer is feast or famine – a month ago it was famine. Now it’s enough of a feast to feed the entire warrior army of Valhalla. I have not had a day off in 3 weeks. No, I’m not kidding. I’m either writing articles or doing a photoshoot, or many times both!! I’m trying not to complain, because I won’t lie – the money is really nice – but all work and no play is making Randi a really grumpy bitch!

We got high speed! Oh yes, we did. After NINE YEARS of begging, pleading, and promising sexual favors the FairPoint Gods descended unto the house and gifted us with high speed. Now it’s nowhere near as fast as most internet is – BUT it’s more than fast enough to do what we need to do, and much more. In fact here are the things we’ve fallen in love with since discovering true high speed a few weeks ago:

  • Streaming music – OMG you guys why didn’t you tell me how amazing streaming music is! Maybe you worried I’d be jealous if you did – and I totally would’ve been. I LOVE streaming music. First I had Pandora but just recently I purchase Spotify, and I’m pretty sure it’s a recurring purchase that I’m going to keep!! I love it!
  • YouTube – Yeah yeah yeah, we knew about YouTube before, but we were only able to watch one or two videos before our internet crapped out on us. Now we can watch as much as we want – I’ve had way too much fun introducing my kids to some of the old music videos I used to watch!
  • Netflix – Yes, we finally got Netflix – right before the stupid rates changed too. D’oh! We’re streaming it through the Wii, though, and while we can’t do HD, it’s definitely enough to keep us more than happy!
  • Wii Gaming – And YES, we have connected the Wii to the internet and can game online! We spent two weeks simply paying Mario Kart (yes, people still play that online! Woot!) but now we’ve discovered something even more sinister: Golden Eye 007!! That friggin game has got me addicted and I honestly can’t go to sleep at night unless I”ve played a few rounds of it! And don’t let Scott kid you, I’m a better shot than he is :).
  • Skype – I’m in lust with Skype. Babygirl has been able to chat with her friend from California, and I’ve been able to chat with my best friend who lives in Maine now. It’s amazing!

So work = good. Kids = great (soccer is keeping us on our toes but it’s all good!). Internet = awesome. Scott = eh, he’s all right. His vacation is next week so he’ll be grumpy until it gets here – then he’ll start grumping up again the Sat before he goes back to work. Family situations = let’s not go there. It’s messy, we’ll just say that.

Oh, and the photography business! THAT has been going amazingly well. I’ve done tons of weddings, tons more to do, and have even fit in a few family shoots and some engagement shoots. Yes please!

 


Yes, I took this, and yes, I’m damn proud!!

6 Responses to “Oh Holy Hell”

  1. Cherie July 18, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Awesome picture, but what about that beer drinking, hot babe you saw at Willoughby yesterday? What a looker she was, lol! Speaking of, can you send me that picture? My e-mail is, mylittlechickadee1965@yahoo.com.

    Thanks, and good to see you guys yesterday, Cherie

  2. Megan July 18, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    The pictures are gorgeous! I’m glad your businesses are going so well; you’ve earned it.

  3. Cinderella July 19, 2011 at 3:28 am #

    That is an outstanding fireworks picture AND a marvelous family picture! Wow. You have to have a great camera and a lot of skill with it. Glad your business is prospering!

    High speed internet is indeed a gift.

    Enjoy summer with your kids out of school. It DOES go by quickly, doesn’t it?

  4. scootersbabygirl July 19, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    LMAO – I’ve got that pic – was ready to FB it šŸ˜‰ LOL

  5. scootersbabygirl July 19, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Megan – thank you!!! You are a HUGE inspiration to me!

  6. scootersbabygirl July 19, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Thank you!!! I love being able to do this – it’s my dream job and I couldn’t be happier, and critiques and comments from people make my day, so thanks for taking the time!

Leave a Reply

