The Beach

19 Jul

Well onto three weeks straight of working every day (more work came in today – FUN) and I’m tired. I love the money, I love knowing that we’ll have it in the bank so that our oil bill will get paid, but I won’t lie – I’m tired. I wish I had two straight days off. Hell, I’d take one full day off right now! This weekend was a bit easier – I had a wedding on Saturday and didn’t have to do any writing. But the wedding was 1 1/2 hours away, so it was 3 hours of drive time and almost 3 hours of wedding time, so not really a day off. Sunday I did have to do writing, and today, just when I thought I’d have a day off to play? Nope. Bosses have some emergency work that I’ve gotta get started on.

I’m trying to make as much time as I can for the munchkins, though. Today I’m happy because our neighbor and her daughter are taking Babygirl strawberry picking, and since she loves doing activities like that I know she’s getting some great attention. Toad opted to stay home and he’s more than content to play Wii for half the day (usually we limit his time so having unlimited time is AMAZING to him). He’s got soccer tonight so he’ll get plenty of energy burned off.

We have gone to the beach a few times. I bought some sand toys (ours were lacking) and a cool inflatable and that’s about the only peace I’ve been getting lately. I slather sunscreen on the kids, put up my umbrella, set up my chair, and sit back with my Kindle to read a bit while I keep an eye on them in the water. It’s a little sanctuary, and I love it.

Now if only I could get maid service to clean my house while we’re at the beach, I’d be set!

One Response to “The Beach”

  1. Cinderella July 20, 2011 at 2:01 am #

    Sounds like you have been incredibly busy.
    It is very nice to have money in the bank – and to enjoy the sunshine at the beach with the kids too 🙂
    As for the maid service, I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

Leave a Reply

