Dog Smell?

25 Jan


A photo that’s totally unrelated to this post, but doesn’t Toad look great learning to snowboard?

Okay, so once again I one about a month without writing anything. I actually feel really guilty for ignoring this blog for so long – I’m not quite sure why I have. I guess this place used to be a place for me to write how I was feeling without having to worry about anyone really criticizing me, at least anyone that I know in person. Then the blog got discovered by a couple of people that I do know in real life, and it caused a few problems – that tends to happen when people believe you’ve been writing bad things about them, even if you haven’t – so maybe that’s why I ignore the blog for so long.

I’m sorry I point in my life, however, what I really don’t care if people find the blog or if they get upset about what I write. I’ve said it before, I don’t go looking for, but it tends to find me simply when I’m being who I am. I tried a good person, I try to make my husband and my children proud of me, and I try to stand up for what I believe in. But even that tends to land me in hot water occasionally and I decided that since that seems to be my lot in life I may as well just embrace it and not worry if I annoy anyone.

The topic of the day? The cleanliness of my house. I’m having a bit of a struggle with someone and during the struggle it was brought up that my house is not very clean. You may immediately start thinking that my house looks like it belongs on an episode of Hoarders, but let me assure you that that is not the case simply because my husband has stated that he would divorce me if our house ever looked like that. in reality my house isn’t too bad, at least I don’t think it is. It’s a bit cluttered, it seems like the counter is never fully cleared and that even when I do clear it it gets it gets filled with junk again fairly quickly, and I definitely don’t dust as much as I should. Between Scott and I we keep up with the laundry the dishes and vacuuming and mopping and the basic cleanup as much as we can.

Should I do more cleaning in my house? Probably. I would love for my house to look like it could belong in a magazine, but I’ve come to the realization that that will likely never happen – not just because I’m not a neat freak, but also because I have absolutely no design sense. Sounds strange the photographer doesn’t have a sense of design, but there it is. Actually I do have a fairly decent sense of design, I just don’t have the wallet to match it, and am horrible at figuring out affordable ways to make your home look amazing.

There were a lot of comments during that conversation that bothered me, but the one that bothered me the most, and the one that came up a couple of other times, is the dog smell in my house. I have three dogs. Let me correct that, I have three very large dogs. These dogs do go outside and they do come inside. We consider these dogs members of our family and while they’re not allowed on the couch or on the bed, they do go anywhere in the house they want to. We also have quite a bit of carpet and from what I’ve researched apparently the dog smell stays stuck in the carpet very easily. I’m constantly chasing after dog hair and we brush them and wash them normally, yet apparently the dog smell in my house is noticeable. I’ve had a few people tell me that while it’s noticeable it’s not overwhelming and I think I would agree with that.

I’ve been looking up ways to get rid of the dog smell, and I really haven’t come up with anything concrete that seems to work for everybody. At the same time, I hate to defend myself over the situation. Yes, we have animals. Yes, they come inside. Yes, they do smell the place up sometimes. In return, however, we get lots of love, a feeling of security because they are large dogs and are fairly protective, and we get someone to cuddle with when were not feeling very happy. I guess I’ll deal with the dog smell.

I’m going to make a promise to myself that I’ll be writing on this blog and least every weekday. I need to get back into the habit of it for a variety of reasons. I’m not looking for tons of readers, I’m not looking for friends ( although finding some is always a wonderful treat), I simply need to write on this to help me retain my sanity.

10 Responses to “Dog Smell?”

  1. Megan January 25, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Try that Arm & Hammer carpet stuff. You sprinkle it on the carpet, leave it there a bit, then vacuum it up. They have one for pet odor. You can use it shortly before people come over. Beyond that, don’t worry about it.

    Life is too short to worry a lot about having a pristine house. Clean enough is good enough, and it’s your call.

  2. pinkpiddypaws January 25, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Yeah, we have that too. It’s just a fact of life with dogs. It’s not like the dogs are messing on the carpet or anything! For our house I consider it a bonus that people think it smells like dog and not cat litter. ha.ha…

    We have hardwood floors, no carpet and yet the dog smell is still there. I use Febreeze, I clean weekly and sweep 3-4 times per week to get the large amount of dog hair that accumulate (like enough to build a small dog!) but the smell is still there. Candles help, of course. And we have an attic fan that is great. When the weather is nice we open all the windows and blast the attic fan to pull fresh air through.

    And I’m with you hon….the love and affection is totally worth a little dog smell. (yes, I really said that!)

  3. Jenera January 25, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    I don’t know that we have dog smell in our house but we have only tile through the whole place. I do use Febreeze on the couches and beds very regularly even though Tango is only allowed on one couch. It could help that we have no yard so he doesn’t spend a ton of time outside right now. But I agree that opening the windows whenever possible really helps. I have mine open right now because the circulation in our place is terrible and it smells funky at the moment. And can I also say that I’m not sure that I’d be able to handle someone criticizing how my house looks. Granted there are times when I just get disgusted and do a deep clean but I have never had someone point it out even it was icky.

  4. Dan January 26, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    No offense intended, but it seems to me that the comments here have missed the point. If someone is that offended with your house, they just don’t need to go there. It is YOUR house. So long as you and your family who lives there is satisfied with it, that’s all that matters. As you stated, your house is cluttered and sure, it will smell somewhat like its occupants, but it is your home! I would much rather walk into a house that is cluttered and may smell a little bit like dog, than walk into a house that is sparkling clean and smells like chemicals. I can also guess that it is healthier to live with fewer chemicals trying to mask natural smells anyway!

  5. Cherie January 26, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Hi Randi, Animals are wonderful, but they sure can be hard on our homes and furniture. I am not a big fan of carpets and I only have a few area rugs in my home. Carpets hold odor and when animals get wet and lay on the rugs, well, their smells remain, even after the rugs dries. One way to remedy your problem would be to purchase a rug cleaner from Sears or another dept store and clean the rugs on a regular basis?

    Good luck and give your dogs a big squeeze for me, as I am a huge dog fan!

  6. scootersbabygirl January 30, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Megan – we did that a long time ago but it’s been awhile. I should def. try it again! Thanks!

  7. scootersbabygirl January 30, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Coming from the once cat lady that’s a great response!! :). I hear you with building your own dog – malamutes blow their coat, which means that we get a LOT of hair for months at a time. I have a small shop-vac now because the broom wasn’t cutting it! LOL

  8. scootersbabygirl January 30, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    LOVE Febreeze :). Yeah, I was pretty upset when the comment was made – and between you and me it was made by a family member and was extremely hurtful. Scott, the neat-freak, is comfortable living here and my BFF who has OCD can even come in and be fine, so I don’t think it’s reached Hoarders level LOL. I’ll have to take a picture and let you guys decide.

  9. scootersbabygirl January 30, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    awww! Thank you Dan! That’s so sweet! I agree, I’d rather walk into a lived-in home than one that’s too sterile. I see a lot of people who constantly bleach and who seem to constantly get sick. That’s not a good thing!

  10. scootersbabygirl January 30, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Hey cherie – I do have a small rug cleaner but it’s been acting up lately so I may need a new one. OMG wet dogs – I love my mutts but when they’re wet I tend to stick them on the back porch (completely covered) until they dry off!! LOL

Leave a Reply

